Bipolar Disorder and the Power of Intention — What worked for me

First, let me say, I’m not an expert on the Power of Intention or mental disorders. However, that being said, I do suffer from Bipolar Disorder and had a really hard time with the Power of Intention because of it. A friend kept urging me to think positive, to believe that things would happen because I willed them to happen, and I just couldn’t do it. I tried, really I did, but it just ended up frustrating me and making me even more depressed. If you want to learn  more about the Power of Intention, check out Dr. Wayne Dyer or Sharon Salzberg.

Let me give you a little background on myself. My name is Jessica Coulter Smith and I’m a romance author, mostly known for my Ashton Grove Werewolves series. Prior to staying home full-time to write, I worked at a local college in the Education Department. It was during my time there that I started feeling overwhelmed by my emotions, swinging from elated to depressed in a matter of minutes throughout the day. Things got really bad and I could barely function, even ended up being out of work so long that they had to let me go. It was during this time that I finally sought help with a mental healthcare professional and we’ve found the right mix of medications that work for me.

But…Even taking all those pills, I still couldn’t believe in the Power of Intention. My doctor said I was doing well, seemed balanced emotionally, but I still couldn’t do the whole Power of Intention thing, no matter how hard I tried. My doctor recommended that I start taking vitamin D3, not because of working towards having intentions, but because of the health benefits (both mental and physical). It made me think…if D3 was so great for us, what else could help with Bipolar Disorder? So I did a little research. First, I found an article in Psychiatric Times about Fish Oil and the benefits of Omega 3 Fatty Acids, so I checked with my doctor and added Fish Oil to my collection of pills (this is in addition to the D3 and taking a multivitamin).

Still no change when it came to the Power of Intention. So I dug a little further…I found several blog posts written by people who either suffered form Bipolar Disorder or who had a loved one who did. It was while reading these articles that I discovered the possibility of using Niacin (vitamin B3) to help promote positive thinking when battling Bipolar Disorder. I figured I didn’t have much to lose, so once more I checked with my doctor and he gave me the okay to purchase some. It took a few days, but by the third or fourth day of taking Niacin, Fish Oil, and D3 together (at the same time – I take my prescription medications at a different time) I started to notice a difference. I felt more upbeat without being manic, I was sleeping better at night, and I woke up ready to tackle the day.

I’m not saying that having intentions is easy, because it still is a struggle some days, but I truly believe the vitamins I’m taking have helped me tremendously. I will say that if you’re bipolar, you should check with your doctor before adding any of these supplements to your diet. I am in no way a medical professional, but I wanted to share what seems to be working for me, in case others are struggling the way I was.

More About Jessica Coulter Smith

I’ve had many jobs over the years, but not one of them was half as fulfilling as being a writer. Just the act of creating a story, putting the words to paper, brings me joy, but what really makes it all worthwhile is when someone else gets to read it and is allowed to escape from their lives for a short while. Knowing that I’ve made someone laugh, cry, and perhaps even sigh in pleasure, is the greatest joy of all.

When I’m not writing, which isn’t often because quite honestly I’m obsessed, I enjoy spending time with my family and pets. There is one particular furbaby who is near and dear to me (and if you friend me on Facebook, you’re sure to catch a glimpse of him). In my downtime, I suppose I like what most people do – music, movies, books – but the books must always have a happily-ever-after. I can’t abide sad endings.

I’ve written over 70 stories, all published, and have about 60 more partial stories. I’m best known for my Ashton Grove Werewolves series and tend to write paranormal and sci-fi romance more than any other genre, however, I’ve been known to write anything from cowboys to historical romances. If you’re a lover of the romance genre like I am, you can find my books on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

